Classical Dreams

Saturday 2 September, 8.00pm

Richard Bonynge Concert Hall, Joan Sutherland Performing Arts Centre, Penrith


Sarah Penicka-Smith - conductor
Waynne Kwon - cello

Mendelssohn - A Midsummer NIght's Dream Overture
Schumann - Cello Concerto
Mozart - Symphony No. 41, Jupiter

Buy tickets online here...

All PSO subscriptions and tickets can be booked online or through the Box Office at The Joan:

Phone: 02 4723 7600
Box Office: 597 High Street, Penrith
Hours: Monday to Friday, 9.00am to 4.30pm
The box office accepts cash, cheque or credit card.

A transaction fee of $4.00 (per booking, not per ticket) will be added to all bookings other than cash sales at the box office.

Ticket prices

Adult $60
Concession $52
Child $28
Family $154
Group 10+ $45 each

The German impresario responsible for bringing Haydn to London, Johann Peter Salomon, christened Mozart’s Symphony No. 41 “Jupiter” to acknowledge its supernatural-like status in the musical firmament. This was Mozart’s final symphony written in a fever of creative activity that included the composition of Symphonies 39 and 40 in the summer of 1788.

Soloist Waynne Kwon joins PSO in a work never heard by its composer, Robert Schumann. His Cello Concerto was first performed in Leipzig in 1860, four years after his death. The work is known for its transcendental and enigmatic characteristics. Waynne Kwon was a student of the Sydney Conservatorium before pursuing post-graduate study at the Royal Northern College of Music, in Manchester.

Completing the dream-like nature of this program is some of the most loved incidental music ever written for a Shakespearean play, the Overture to A Midsummer Night’s Dream, a work of youthful brilliance written when Mendelssohn was just seventeen years old. Guest conductor, Sarah Penicka-Smith, appears with PSO for the first time.